Natalya Gorbanevskaya Award

The jury of the Angelus Award decided to honour the memory of Natalya Gorbanevskaya, the first chairperson of the jury, by establishing an award of her name. It is an honourable distinction for one of the seven books qualified for the final of Angelus. The winner is selected by the readers – they can vote, among others, on the Angelus Award website.

So far, the winners of the Award were: Pavol Rankov, Lucian Dan Teodorovici, Varujan Vosganian, Andrea Tompa, Maciej Płaza and Yuriy Vynnychuk.

Since the 2020 edition, Natalya Gorbanevskaya Readers’ Award is not only an honourable distinction – the winner is invited for a three-months artist-in-residence stay in Wrocław.

In 2020,  the winner was Russian writer Sergey Lebedev for his novel Гусь Фриц [Children of Kronos]. He will visit Wrocław in 2021.